Tags

, , , ,

Barn in the Snow-Jan2010

            Night Of Nights

On this night of nights

Snow squeaks under my boots

Sounding like little Christmas mice

Fighting over cookies and milk

I remove one glove, then the other

Loosen the girth, slide the saddle off

Give my chestnut mare a quick brush

Several pats on her warm thick coated neck

A blue glow from a bright star

Forges a path across the winter landscape

Reveals neat hoof prints that mark the way

From whence we have come

Yes, we

Though I traveled undetected

Upon the broad back of my companion

Could I prove I was there

Perhaps not

Take it on faith I will say if challenged

The place journeyed to

Found several years ago

When I dropped the reins

Gave my mare her head

Feels close to Heaven

Tonight, this night, I left prayers

She trimmed around the tombstone

Upon which the light always shines brightest

Infant boy-A child of God- the inscription reads

Each year it is the same and each year

I marvel at the sight

My mare moves so unerringly to

Animals in the stable talk at midnight

Or so it is said

In honor of a birth long ago

Does my mare speak of the wonders we have seen

I do not know

Will have to take it on faith

Our yearly trek complete

I lead my mare into the barn

Settle her in with sweet feed and carrots

Gloves back on, I give her one last pat

Pull the heavy wooden door closed

Shut in the incense of horses, hay and miracles

Snow squeaks under my boots

On this night of nights

